December Social Work Convocation Ceremony Speaker Announced

Darrell Wheeler, PhD, ACSW, MPH

Darrell Wheeler is president of the National Association of Social Workers and since 2011 has been the dean of Loyola University’s School of Social Work. Prior to his post at Loyola, Wheeler was associate dean for research and community partnerships at the Silberman School of Social Work at Hunter College (CUNY).

Wheeler is an educator and researcher who is one of the leading social work experts on HIV prevention and intervention, particularly in the African-American gay, bisexual, and transgender communities. He has authored and co-authored many articles, book chapters and monographs on AIDS. His work has been funded by key health organizations, including the National Institutes of Health, National Institute of Mental Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the American International Health Alliance. His work has demonstrated a deep understanding of social work practice methods and the social work community. Wheeler has also used research and scholarship to advance the use of data and evidence in developing innovative programs and policy initiatives.

He was a recipient of the American International Health Alliance Partnership Award, which he used to develop the capacity of Nigerian social service programs targeted at orphaned and other vulnerable youth. He was also a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Primary Health Care Policy Fellow in 2003; a Henry and Lucy Moses Fellow at Hunter College in 2001-02; a Martin Luther King Jr. Service Award winner at the University of North Carolina, Greensboro, in 1995 and was named one of the Outstanding Young Men of America in 1987 and 1988.

Wheeler earned his doctorate from the University of Pittsburgh in 1992, a master’s degree in public health at the University of Pittsburgh in 1990, a master in social work from Howard University in 1988, and a bachelor’s degree in sociology from Cornell College in 1981.

The 2014 School of Social Work Convocation ceremony will be held on Sunday, December 14 at 1:00 pm at Smith Memorial Hall in Urbana, IL.