Skip to content

Alumni Awards

Illinois Social Work alumni are recognized annually for their success and contributions. A call for nominations opens in the fall of each academic year and recipients are chosen by members of the Community Engagement Board. Recipients will be recognized at the annual School of Social Work Scholarship & Awards Ceremony, held in the spring of each academic year.

Nomination forms are currently closed.


This award recognizes an alumnus who has garnered an exemplary and longstanding professional reputation of success in the global social work community. Nominees for this award should currently live, or have lived, outside the United States and have a career of distinction in their chosen profession.

Nomination form

Previous Recipients:

2020-2021: Joyce Feng

This award is for a School of Social Work alumnus who has made a significant contribution to his or her agency or community and is therefore recognized as a community leader.

Nomination form

Previous Recipients:

2020-2021: Chathapuram Ramanathan and Molly McLay

2019-2020: Meghan Golden

2018-2019: Stephanie Record, Juliet Bond, and Meghan Rewers

This award acknowledges and honors a social work alumnus who, throughout their career, has consistently demonstrated exceptional contributions to the profession, the community and/or social work education.

Nomination form

Previous Recipients:

2020-2021: Sondra Fogel

2019-2020: Kathy Wehrmann

This award is for recent graduates of the MSW or BSW program who have demonstrated extraordinary accomplishments in their first five years of post-degree practice.

Nomination form

Previous Recipients:

2020-2021: Carly Musselman

2019-2020: Annie Bruno and Whitney Freund

2018-2019: Cynthia Degnan

Cookie Settings