Skip to content
Faculty & Staff

Tan Wins National Award for School Social Work

January 13, 2021

Kevin Tan - professor of social work

Description of Professor Tan Award

Kevin Tan has been selected as the recipient of the 2021 Gary Lee Shaffer Award for Academic Contributions to the Field of School Social Work. This national award is given annually to a university faculty member by the School Social Work Association of America (SSWAA). Kevin will be honored at the annual SSWAA conference in March.

Gary Shaffer was a University of Illinois School of Social Work faculty member, and a passionate advocate for children and the field of school social work. He passed away in 2009. Later that year, the SSWAA established this award program β€œto commemorate his contributions through an annual recognition of a university faculty member that has made significant contributions to the field.”

Back To News
Cookie Settings